You are here

2016-2017 Board of Directors

Peter Felten, President (2015-2018)

Assistant Provost and Executive Director of the Center for the Advancement of Teaching Learning & the Center for Engaged Learning, Professor of History, Elon University, United States

Katarina Mårtensson, Co-President-Elect (2016-2019)

Academic Developer, Division for Higher Educational Development, Lund University, Sweden 

Beth Marquis, Co-President-Elect (2016-2019)

Assistant Professor, Arts & Science Program, and Associate Director (Research), Institute for Innovation & Excellence in Teaching & Learning, McMaster University, Canada 

Anthony Ciccone, Past President (2014-2017)

Former Director, Center for Instructional and Professional Development, and Professor Emeritus of French, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, United States 

Mary Ann Danielson, Secretary (2011-2017)

Associate Vice Provost for Academic Excellence and Assessment, Professor of Communication Studies, Creighton University, United States 

Sarah Bunnell, Treasurer (2016-2019)

Assistant Professor of Psychology, Teagle Pedagogy Fellow, Ohio Wesleyan University, United States 

Roselynn Verwood, Student Representative (2014-2017)

Ph.D. student in Educational Studies, University of British Columbia, Canada

Aaron Long, Student Representative (2016-2018)

Ph.D. student in English, University of Kansas, United States

Sean Brawley, Asia Pacific Countries Regional Vice President (2014-2017)

Professor of Modern History and Head of Department of Modern History, Politics and International Relations, Macquarie University, Australia 

Kelly Matthews, Asia Pacific Countries Regional Vice President (2016-2019)

Senior Lecturer in Higher Education, University of Queensland, Australia

Karen Manarin, Canada Regional Vice President (2014-2017)

Associate Professor, English & General Education, Mt. Royal University, Canada

Heather Smith, Canada Regional Vice President (2016-2019)

Director of the Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology; and University of Northern British Columbia, Canada

Bettie Higgs, Europe Regional Vice President (2014-2017)

Co-Director and Academic Coordinator of Support for Teaching and Learning, Ionad Bairre, Teaching & Learning Centre, University College Cork, Ireland 

Idoia Fernández, Europe Regional Vice President (2016-2019)

Professor of Learning Sciences, University of the Basque Country, Spain

Jessie L. Moore, United States Regional Vice President (2016-2018)

Director, Center for Engaged Learning, and Associate Professor of Professional Writing & Rhetoric, Elon University, United States

Lauren Scharff, United States Regional Vice President (2016-2019)

Director, Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Program, and Professor of Behavioral Sciences, U.S. Air Force Academy, United States


Learn more about the Board of Directors positions.

Past Board of Directors

(c) 2014 ISSOTL All Rights Reserved.