You are here


Proposal to host the ISSOTL conference in 2018

ISSOTL and its Convenings Committee have extended the call for proposals to host the 2018 ISSOTL annual conference. We will consider proposals from any institution or group of institutions regardless of geographical location, although we have a slight preference for proposals from outside of North America.

Jennifer Meta Robinson recognized with 2016 Distinguished Service Award

Jennifer Meta Robinson, Ph.D, Professor of Practice in the Indiana University Department of Anthropology, will receive the 2016 Distinguished Service Award from the International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (ISSOTL) at the organization’s annual meeting on October 13 in Los Angeles.

SoTL Advocacy via Social Media

Written by Jennifer Friberg (; @jacfriberg13), Cross Endowed Chair in SoTL at Illinois State University on behalf of ISSOTL’s Advocacy & Outreach committee

These days, social media seems omnipresent, with many groups and individuals using the power of various social media platforms (e.g., Facebook, Twitter, blogs) to learn content, share discoveries, and advocate for literally thousands of causes and efforts. During recent conference calls, the members of ISSOTL’s Advocacy & Outreach committee have discussed ways that social media might be harnessed for SoTL promotion and for communication with current and future ISSOTL members, understanding that if we seek to maximize our reach to a large number of individuals (which we do!), social media could be valuable for ISSOTL and for SoTL, in general.

Register Now for ISSOTL 2016

The Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) at Loyola Marymount University (LMU) under the leadership of its Director Dr. Dorothea Herreiner is the ISSOTL 2016 conference organizer. Dr. Herreiner looks forward to welcoming ISSOTL members and other ISSOTL 2016 presenters to Los Angeles, Califronia, October 12-15.

Call for Expressions of Interest to Host 2018 ISSOTL Conference

ISSOTL and its Convenings Committee welcome expressions of interest in hosting the 2018 ISSOTL annual conference. The ISSOTL Board has stated a preference for a conference location outside North America in 2018, but the Convenings Committee will consider expressions of interest from any institution or group of institutions regardless of location.  

2016 Election Results

On behalf of the ISSOTL Board, we’re pleased to announce that the following positions have been filled. Thank to all the members who put themselves forward to be nominated. A special thanks to Kathy Takayama and the Leadership and Election Committee for presenting the slate of candidates and to Brandon Clementi for handling the logistics.

Co-Presidents Elect (2016-2019): Katarina Martensson, Lund University, Sweden, & Beth Marquis, McMaster University, Canada

Treasurer (2016-2019): Sarah Bunnell, Ohio Wesleyan University, US

Student Representative (2016-2018): Aaron Long, University of Kansas, US

Canada Regional VP (2016-2019): Heather Smith, University of Northern British Columbia, Canada

Asia Pacific Regional VP (2016-2019): Kelly Matthews, University of Queensland, Australia

Europe Regional VP (2016-2019): Idoia Fernandez, University of the Basque Country

US Regional VP (2016-2019): Lauren Scharff, U.S. Air Force Academy, US

US Regional VP (2016-2018): Jessie L. Moore, Elon University, US

In memory of Joanna Renc-Roe

Our colleague Joanna Renc-Roe has left us, much too early. It is with great sadness we write these words, but also with warm memories and gratitude for having known Joanna, her work, and her contributions to the world of SoTL. Joanna worked at the Center for Teaching and Learning at the Central European University in Budapest, Hungary. Her academic interests concerned professional development, internationalisation, and the relation between policy and practice in higher education.

ISSOTL 2016 Proposal Deadline Extended to May 9

The submission deadline for the ISSOTL 2016 conference in Los Angeles, California (US) has been extended to May 9, 2016.

ISSOTL 2016 Elections - Candidate Bios and Statements

Before participating in this year's ISSOTL elections, please view the body of this post, which includes bios and personal statements for each of the candidates listed below: 

United States Vice President Candidates:
                A. Stephen Bloch-Schulman, Elon University
                B. Aimee Knupsky, Allegheny College
                C. Jessie Moore, Elon University
                D. Lauren Scharff, U.S. Air Force Academy

Asia Pacific Vice President Candidates:
                A. Chng Huang Hoon, National University of Singapore
                B. Kelly Matthews, University of Queensland
                C. Robyn Nash, Queensland Institute of Technology

Europe Vice President Candidate:
                A. Idoia Fernández, University of the Basque Country, UPV/EHU (Spanish State)

Canada Vice President Candidate:
                A. Heather Smith, University of Northern British Columbia

President Elect Candidates:
                A. Co-Presidents Elect Katarina Mårtensson & Beth Marquis, Lund and McMaster Universities

Treasurer Elect Candidate:
                A. Sarah Bunnell, Ohio Wesleyan University

Student Representative Candidate:
                A. Aaron Long, University of Kansas

ISSOTL Distinguished Service Awards 2016

Each year, the ISSOTL Board organizes a public call for nominations for the Distinguished Service Award (DSA). This award is aimed at ISSOTL members who have served the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in distinguished ways for a period spanning a significant part of their career as faculty or leaders in higher education.  The Board may make up to two such awards per year.


(c) 2014 ISSOTL All Rights Reserved.