You are here

ISSOTL Committees

Advocacy and Outreach Committee

The Advocacy and Outreach Committee fosters discussion within ISSOTL – as an organization but also among members – about the relevance of SoTL for policy debates within and outside of the academy, engaging in such discussions through the organization’s website, listserv, special interest groups, and conferences. It also provides guidelines and models to help ISSOTL members share research-based insights on teaching and learning with audiences within and outside of the academy, including the media and policy makers. Learn more about the committee's work.

Budget and Finances Committee

The Budget and Finances Committee serves as an advisory committee for the Board and for the standing committees that incur substantial expenses and/or take in significant revenue. The Committee prepares a budget for each fiscal year (1 July to 30 June) and submits it to the Board by May 1 of each year. The Budget and Finances Committee will also regularly monitor and supervise the flow of revenue into the Society’s accounts and the disbursement of funds to cover expenses.  Learn more about the Committee's work.

  • Karen Manarin (Chair), Mount Royal University, Canada
  • Sarah Bunnell (ISSOTL Board Treasurer), Amherst College, USA
  • Mills Kelly (ISSOTL President), George Mason University, USA
  • Carol Miles, USA
  • Yvonne Macrae, USA
  • Rie Troelson, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark

Communications Committee

The Communications Committee is responsible for developing and maintaining effective communication with and among Society members. The committee contributes to and monitors the website, blog, and social media pages as primary means of communication with current and potential members. The committee, in collaboration with the Publications Advisory Committee and the Advocacy and Outreach Committee devises and creates materials to represent the organization to public audiences. The Committee recruits, selects, and supervises the work of the Communications Coordinator, including the support of online interactivity and communication among special interest groups and other communities of practice within the Society.

  • Jessie L. Moore (Chair), Elon University, USA
  • Mary Ann Danielson (Secretary), Creighton University, USA
  • Sam Lucie Dvorakova (ISSOTL Board Student Representative), University of Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Sarah Bunnell (ISSOTL Board Treasurer), Amherst College, USA
  • Aaron Long, University of Kansas, USA
  • Susannah McGowan, UK
  • Phillip Motley, Elon University, USA
  • Bridgett Piernik-Yoder, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, USA

Conferences and Convenings Committee

The Conferences and Convenings Committee oversees the annual conference and other convenings for members of the Society. The committee sets the theme for the conference and plans the program of the conference. The committee identifies an appropriate mix of locations for the annual conference that reflects both the distribution of members and the international scope of the Society. Once the location is identified, the committee recruits and vets local hosts for those meetings who can collaborate with the committee in the details of the event. The call for proposals, the financial planning, the program selection, and the collection and distribution of revenue will be handled by sub-committees appointed and supervised by the Conferences and Convenings Committee. 

  • Mills Kelly (ISSOTL President), George Mason University, USA
  • Beth Marquis (ISSOTL Past Co-President), McMaster MacPherson Institute,
  • Katarina Martensson (ISSOTL Past Co-President), Lund University, Sweden
  • Sarah Bunnell (ISSOTL Board Treasurer), Amherst College, USA,
  • Chng Huang Hoon, National University of Singapore, Singapore,
  • Janice Miller-Young, Canada
  • Bettie Higgs, University College Cork, Ireland,
  • Jessie L. Moore, Elon University, USA,
  • Kelly Matthews, University of Queensland, Australia,
  • Nancy Chick, University of Calgary, Canada
  • Oddfrid Førland, University of Bergen, Norway

Leadership and Elections Committee

The Leadership and Elections Committee identifies and recruits members for active participation in the organization, such as committee membership, positions on the Board of Directors, and other activities of the organization. The committee proposes a slate of at least one nominee for each vacant elected office to the Board of Directors, which approves the proposed ballot. The committee supervises the election process, notifies candidates about the results of the election, and presents the results of the election to the President, who announces the results.

  • Beth Marquis (Chair, ISSOTL Past Co-President Elect), McMaster MacPherson Institute, Canada
  • Katarina Martensson (Chair, ISSOTL Past Co-President Elect), Lund University, Sweden
  • Karen Manarin, Mount Royal University, Canada
  • Sean Brawley, Australia
  • Lauren Scharff, United States Air Force Academy, USA
  • Rie Troelson, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
  • Jessica Riddell, Bishops University, Canada

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee recruits new members through multiple means and manages the retention of current members through a renewal process and on going conference registration. The committee decides on and guides communities of practice sponsored by the Society.

  • Mary Ann Danielson (Chair, ISSOTL Board Secretary), Creighton University, USA,
  • Sarah Bunnell (ISSOTL Board Treasurer), Amherst College, USA
  • Deb Clarke, Asia Pacific
  • Tom Pusateri, USA

Students and SoTL Committee

The Students & SoTL Committee recognizes the value that the Society places on the role of students in all activities pertaining to teaching and learning, and as such, advocates for meaningful engagement of students in SoTL and the Society. The committee’s responsibilities include: (a) acting as a direct line of communication between the Board and other groups within the Society that have particular interest in or relevance to students, including certain Special Interest Groups; (b) managing the Society’s student awards including advertising, coordinating of judges, tabulation of results, and announcing the awards; (c) coordinating student events at the annual conference; (d) responding to relevant requests from the Board and the Society’s members; and (e) identifying recruitment and retention measures to increase and sustain student membership in the Society. Learn more about the committee's work.

  • Lucie Sam Dvorakova (ISSOTL Board Student Representative), University of Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Sophia Abbott (ISSOTL Board Student Representative), Elon University, USA
  • Aaron Long, University of Kansas, USA
  • Roselynn Verwoord, Canada

Publications Advisory Committee

The Publications Advisory Committee is responsible for strategic planning and coordination of scholarly publications for the Society. The primary function of the committee is to guide the development of the Society’s journal, Teaching and Learning Inquiry, by periodically reviewing the model employed for its publication and dissemination. The Committee is also responsible for generating a pool of editorial candidates, nominating new editors to the Board, and advising on the terms of the editorial positions. This committee will not be involved in the substantive work of the journal, neither in setting its intellectual course nor in supervising the operations of the editor and his or her editorial board. It is intended to advise the Society on the questions of how best to make our intellectual work visible and useful to our potential audiences and to ensure that the journal serves the larger purposes of the Society.

Teaching & Learning Inquiry (TLI) Editors

(c) 2014 ISSOTL All Rights Reserved.